My SOP for Iowa State University

Maths and Science had been my passion from a young age, and I did well with these subjects during my high school days. Right from high school, I lead my school science club in several science competitions and won remarkable state and federal awards. This inspired me to pursue an engineering career path early in my college degree. I had chosen engineering because engineering, especially electrical engineering, allowed me to incorporate my love of science into my career while I served and proffer lasting solutions to some of the problems faced in my region through technology. This lead me into taking many voluntary jobs during undergraduate studies to work and also learn how things work. I graduated as one of the best students in my department with an award of excellence and departmental recognition after serving in different roles as a student leader.

Gaining experience in electricity and electronics had been a primary reason behind taking many volunteering positions at Power Africa, my undergraduate school energy research group. One of our research on renewable energy lead to the cofounding of the Greenage company in Nigeria which is an energy company that provides smart power systems to many Nigerian homes today. From participating in this alone, I discovered that engineering could solve one of the major problems faced in my region and most African countries which is the lack of functional electricity that powers many businesses and industries. I became more passionate about science. I decided to major in the field of electrical and electronics to pursue my career in engineering and enable me learn how to build the right skill, team spirit, and a leadership ability to build teams that will develop solutions in the power and communication sector in my country through quality research and the use of modern technologies.

After working as an intern at the Enugu Electricity Distribution Company, a government-owned power company, I continued to my final year through the bachelor of Engineering program. The course doled out practical knowledge through the implementation of several projects from scratch. I got on track with mini-projects like “Automatic winding of electric coils” which recommended a scheme to build a machine that winds coils for DC motors automatically. Later, I got the confidence to undertake larger projects. The major project for my course was an electronic surveillance system intended to reinforce public security. The system proposed various improvements such as night vision cameras and heat vision so that the security professionals can administer reconnaissance. I had been a student member of the NSE (Nigerian Society of Engineers) and IEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) These had exposed me to a deeper understanding of the field of engineering through the organization's workshops and seminars over the years. These experiences were key to developing my expertise in efficiently collaborating with team members in collaborative projects and research in the past.

Though the demands of a rigorous Ph.D. program seem daunting, my passion and interest in pursuing this program would be worth it. From my research, Iowa state university is among the best colleges for Electrical Engineering majors, the best school in Engineering, and one of the best universities in the United States school ranking. Iowa State University recognizes the importance of “real world” experience and strives to provide an outstanding educational experience for its students. Therefore, I and excited and confident that I am making the best decision by coming to study at Iowa state university.